Switzerland -Lucerne and Basel


Arrived in Zurich on Thursday afternoon and though I couldn’t remember any of the German I learnt at school (except for a few numbers and completely useless phrases) I managed to make my way to the train station, get the right ticket, find the right platform, get on the right train AND find the right carriage!!! All great expect for one little issue. I left my wallet in London. I had EVERYTHING ELSE SOOOOOOO WELL ORGANISED that I forgot the most basic and one of the most essential things! Lucky I always carry spare cash separately when traveling, particularly when traveling overseas so I guarded my 150 Euros like gold as without them I couldn’t eat, or more important at the time, pay for my train! So after an incredibly scenic 1 hr train trip

I arrived in Lucerne (Luzern)

and was greeted by freshly baked bagels

and one of the most stunning lakes i have ever seen

Which was filled with swans and other little water birds.

As I crossed the bridge the sun was setting and a pink glow reflected upon to the mountains and my eyes widened as I took in the 360 view. WOW.

It was just unbelievably beautiful or as Zoolander would say

“really, really, ridiculously good looking”

I kept taking photos as the hue of the glow morphed from orange to purple, unable to pull myself away.

Eventually I ventured onwards, had a little “IM IN SWITZERLAND” moment and then made my way to my hotel perched nicely on the lake.

With a population of 76,156 Lucerne is the most populous city in Central Switzerland and a focal point of the region. Due to its location on the shore of Lake Lucerne (Vierwaldstättersee), within sight of Mount Pilatus and Rigi in the Swiss Alps, Lucerne is traditionally considered first and foremost as a tourist destination. One of the city’s famous landmarks is Chapel Bridge (Kapellbrücke), a wooden bridge first built in the 14th century.

I saw this bridge by night when I met up with friends from Australia and we soaked up a bit more of the old sectors charm when we went out for dinner

After 3 ½ months of traveling I feel I have already done so much and fair enough, I have! BUT coming here has reminded me there there is simply SOOO much more out there and so many amazing things to see and do – in shorts its reinvigorated me just when I needed it – as though I’m in the routine of work during the week, I REALLY want to make the most of every weekend i have. I woke friday morning to a beautiful sight

then headed back past the bridge

to the railway station and travelled with my fathers colleague through the countryside to Basel

to attend the Basel World 2010 – The World Watch and Jewelry Show

Baselworld has emerged as a worldwide acclaimed and integral event for keeping up to date and establishing contacts, both crucial in such an evolving and highly personable industry. More than 2000 companies from both wholesale and retail trade hold stalls (including those who supply the technology and parts to produce the jewelry which is what i was there for).

The opulence and wealth concentrated here was unbelievable, a micro world of surreal prosperity considering the Global Economic Recession we’ve experienced. I returned that evening to Luczern then the following morning returned via train to Zurich and onwards to London for what eventuated to be an absolute nightmare ordeal. A truly scary and hectic experience to which nothing i have come across up until this point compares.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Switzerland -Lucerne and Basel

  1. roland

    lucky girl, enjoy and imagine that this year you learn a lot about LIFE.

Leave a Reply

