Before i break free


So how on earth does one prepare for 9 months on the other side of the globe?

Well i’ve started by booking flights – thanks to that hefty deposit no backing out at this stage! I’ve got my accommodation for 80% of it sorted thanks to the enormous generosity of family friends and friends of friends who will be welcoming me into their home. I’m in the process of putting together an extensive contact list for safety and also so i can meet as many people and make as many friends as possible – to understand a place, you must understand it’s people

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.” – Tim Cahill

which reminds me – i must acknowledge the source from which i got the idea for the title of this blog (which is ofcourse subject to change)

“There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

To try and reduce my ‘foreign’ status i’ve been learning Italian and Spanish to ease my passage around Europe. When it comes to India, i’ll have to get by with the bare minimum as there are 14 recognized regional languages and many many MANY more throughout the country.

Things to DO

  1. Visa’s
  2. Continue filling out the contact list
  3. Mull over what i do and don’t need to bring (Suggestions are absolutely welcome) Do i bring my guitar? My paints? Or only the essentials?
  4. Continue reading and marking pages from lonely planet books (Western Europe, Italy, Spain, India)
  5. Continue reading other relevant travel/information/fictional books (The Next Asia by Stephen Roach, Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri, Tuscan Secrets by Marlena de Blasi, A Short History of the World by Geoffrey Blainey, The shadow of the wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, White Tiger by Aravind Adiga, The Sicilian Kitchen by Michele di Bartolo ) and others that i can’t remember off the top off my head.

YES i am attempting to read them all at once (it’s nice as i read different ones depending on my mood )

YES i did go wild on Amazon.com

and YES it’s a pretty bizarre collection but my cultural knowledge is relatively quite minimal and im soaking up everything i possibly can to enhance my experiences

2 Comments

Filed under Travel preparation

2 responses to “Before i break free

  1. tom

    I hear that The Sicilian Kitchen by Michele di Bartolo is a fantastic read

Leave a Reply

